在1899年時,美國哈佛大學的四個網球隊成員提出與英國進行網球賽的構想,這四人中的其中一人Dwight F. Davis策劃了比賽的賽制並且自己出錢買了獎盃。1900年,第一場戴維斯盃比賽於美國波士頓舉行,之後逐漸發展成有全世界大量國家參賽的比賽。

戴維斯盃(Davis Cup)為世界上極受矚目的國家對國家的男子網球團體賽事。是國際網球總會所負責組織的賽事。賽事於一年中的分散的數個星期、於許多地點舉行,每年產生一個戴維斯盃總冠軍。2006年時共有133個國家參賽,而2007年則共有137個國家參賽。

Davis Cup by BNP Paribas is the largest annual international team competition in world sport.

This prestigious event, which is one of the cornerstones of the tennis calendar, gives players the chance to represent their country in an otherwise individual sport.

Founded by Dwight Davis in 1900, Davis Cup began as a challenge match between USA and British Isles, which was held at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston.

Davis himself played in the inaugural Davis Cup tie, steering his country to the first of many title victories. USA has won the Davis Cup 32 times – more than any other nation.

From its inception, Davis Cup has attracted the top players of each generation, from former legends such as Fred Perry, Bill Tilden, Rene Lacoste, Rod Laver and John McEnroe to latter day stars such as Boris Becker, Stefan Edberg, Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, Lleyton Hewitt, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal.



發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *